Show The Graduate Center Menu

Blanche Wiesen Cook
Position: Distinguished Professor
Campus Affiliation: Graduate Center|John Jay College of Criminal Justice
Phone: 212-662-4609
Degrees/Diplomas: Ph.D. Johns Hopkins University
Research Interests: Women's History, U.S. International Relations: War, Peace, and Imperialism
Blanche Wiesen Cook is a Distinguished Professor of History and Women's Studies at John Jay College of Criminal Justice and the Graduate Center of the City University of New York. She is also a faculty member of the M.A. Program in Biography and Memoir. She is the author of the definitive three-volume biography of America's greatest first lady: Eleanor Roosevelt. Recently, Oxford Unversity Press has reissued Crystal Eastman: On Woman and Revolution, calling it  "a classic collection of writings by an influential feminist thinker."

Selected Publications

Review of Francesca Wade’s “Square Haunting: Five Writers in London Between the Wars,” New York Times, 7 April 2020.

Review of Stephanie Davies’ “Other Girls Like Me”, forthcoming in Sinister Wisdom: a Multicultural Lesbian Literary & Art Journal.

Eleanor Roosevelt, Volume 3: The War Years and After, 1939-1962 (New York: Penguin, 2016)

To listen to her recent interview on the BBC, Eleanor Roosevelt: Redefining the First Lady, click here. 


Eleanor Roosevelt, Volume 2: The Defining Years, 1933-1938 (New York: Penguin, 1999)


Eleanor Roosevelt, Volume 1: The Early Years, 1884-1933 (New York: Penguin, 1992)

The Declassified Eisenhower: A Divided Legacy of Peace and Political Warfare,(Doubleday 1981, Penguin 1984) listed by the New York Times Book Review as one of the notable books of 1981, December 6, 1981.


Crystal Eastman: On Woman and Revolution (Oxford 1978).


Contributor and co-editor, Women in Culture and Politics: ACentury of Change (Indiana U Press, 1985). "The Work and Legacy of Crystal Eastman and Alexandra Kollontai".


Series Editor/Editorial Board:

The Garland Library of War and Peace, a 360 volume reprint series, each volume with a new introduction, and ten anthologies (Garland Publishing, 1970- 1980).