GC Professor Appointed President of the Society of American Historians

David NasawDistinguished Professor David Nasaw, Arthur M. Schlesinger Jr. Chair in American History, has been named president of the Society of American Historians, for 2014-2015. The Society of American Historians promotes literary distinction in the writing of history and biography. The society is by membership only and includes scholars, journalists, essayists, biographers, novelists, documentarians, playwrights, poets, and filmmakers.

As president, Nasaw will succeed David Blight of Yale University and the Gilder-Lehrman Center for the Study of Slavery, Resistance, and Abolition. In 2015-2016, Nasaw will be succeeded by Jill Lepore of Harvard University and the New Yorker. Nasaw previously served as Vice President of the society for 2013-2014.

Nasaw is the author of several biographies, including The Patriarch: The Remarkable Life and Turbulent Times of Joseph P. Kennedy (2012), Andrew Carnegie (2007), and The Chief: The Life of William Randolph Hearst (2001), and numerous books.

Submitted on: MAY 7, 2014

Category: Faculty Activities | General GC News | History