AMS Designates Five Mathematics Doctoral Faculty Members as Fellows

Five members of the doctoral faculty in mathematics have been named Fellows of the American Mathematical Society (AMS) for 2013, the program’s initial year: Assistant Professor Jason Behrstock; Professor Linda Keen, who is serving as acting executive officer of the doctoral program in mathematics; Professor Alvany Rocha; Distinguished Professor Dennis P. Sullivan, who serves as Albert Einstein Chair in Science (Math); and Distinguished Professor Lucien Szpiro.

The thirty-thousand-member AMS is the world’s largest and most influential society dedicated to mathematical research, scholarship, and education. It was founded in 1888 to further mathematical research and scholarship and fulfills its mission through programs and services that promote mathematical research and its uses, strengthen mathematical education, and foster awareness and appreciation of mathematics and its connections to other disciplines and everyday life.

With the designation of these Fellows, the AMS recognizes members who have made outstanding contributions to the creation, exposition, advancement, communication, and utilization of mathematics. Among the goals of the program are to create an enlarged class of mathematicians recognized by their peers as distinguished for their contributions to the profession and to honor excellence.

In announcing the Fellows, AMS President Eric M. Friedlander said, “Recent advances in mathematics include solutions to age-old problems and key applications useful for society. The new AMS Fellows Program recognizes some of the most accomplished mathematicians—AMS members who have contributed to our understanding of deep and important mathematical questions, to applications throughout the scientific world, and to educational excellence.”

Submitted on: NOV 13, 2012

Category: Faculty Activities | Mathematics