Show The Graduate Center Menu

 

 
 

Current Students

Welcome First Year Students



Kwan-Lamar Blount-Hill
Research Interest:  police &  legal legitimacy, law enforcement administration, natural resource and emergency management, the impact of mental health on justice and the influence of race, religion, and sexual orientation in criminal justice
Email: kblount-Hill@jjay.cuny.edu

Olive Lu
Research Interest: intersection of juvenile justice & race disparities in sentencing decisions; exploring corrections practices in greater depth
Email: olu@jjay.cuny.edu

Jennifer Peirce
Research Interest: Prison reform strategies; reentry; international and cross-cultural adaptation of crime prevention and reentry programs; program evaluation; gang violence
Email: jpeirce@jjay.cuny.edu

Pamela Ruiz
Research Interest: prevention programs, gang violence, drug trafficking, GIS mapping and prison reentry programs
Email: paruiz@jjay.cuny.edu

Jason Silva
Research Interest: interrelationship between crime, corrections, and media representations
Email: jasilva@jjay.cuny.edu

Policy, Oversight & Administration Students

Frank Chen
Research Interest: how inspectors general “add value” to the governments and agencies
Email: fchen@jjay.cuny.edu

Nicholas A. Cromie
Research Interest: terrorism and governmental oversight
Email: ncromie@jjay.cuny.edu

Christopher Mercado
Research Interest: homeland security, terrorism, domestic preparedness, and exploring new methods of leveraging law enforcement assets to address criminality
Email: chmercado@jjay.cuny.edu

Erin Rogers
Research Interest: offender reentry, drug courts, and empirically based correctional programming
Email: erogers@jjay.cuny.edu

Abbie L. Tuller
Research Interest: analysis of policies impacting victims’ services, particularly violence against women
Email: atuller@jjay.cuny.edu

Current Students
 

Michael Aiello
Email: maiello@gc.cuny.edu
Curriculum Vitae
 

Mohsen S. Alizadeh
Research interests: Criminology; International Criminal Justice; Interrogation
Email: Malizadeh@jjay.cuny.edu
 

Catrin Andersson
Research Interest: Violence, cross-national research, statistics, research methods
Email: candersson@gc.cuny.edu
Curriculum Vitae
 

Marc Balcells Magrans
Research interests: Looting in archaeological sites; Art crimes; International and comparative criminology; History of crime and criminology; Qualitative research methods; GLBT-criminological related issues
Email: mbalcellsmagrans@jjay.cuny.edu


Jeanene Barrett
Email: jbarrett@jjay.cuny.edu


Sarah Bennett
Research interests: Political violence, Terrorism- radicalization, National security issues pertaining to energy, International Human Rights
Email: sarah.bennett119@gmail.com
Curriculum Vitae


Marialuz Bribiesca

Research interests: Criminology and Deviance

Email: mbribiesca@gc.cuny.edu

 

Delene Bromirski

Email: dbromirski@jjay.cuny.edu

 

Jessica Cabrera

Email: jcabrera@jjay.cuny.edu

 

Joel Capellan

Research interests: Domestic terrorism; international terrorism; intelligence led policing; extreme right and left wing ideology; intended and unintended consequences of anti-terrorist policies.

Email: jcapellan@jjay.cuny.edu

 

Jisun Choi

Research Interest: Victim and prevention, statistics, GIS mapping

Email: jchoi@jjay.cuny.edu

Curriculum Vitae
 


Michelle Cubellis

Research Interest: Sex offender policies, prosecutorial discretion, jail and prison misconduct, gender and crime, and preventive detention of terrorists

Email: mcubellis@jjay.cuny.edu

Curriculum Vitae

 

Noah Cypher

Email: ncypher@jjay.cuny.edu


Ronald Day

Research Interests: Research interests include reentry, desistance, recidivism, parole policy, and correctional health care.

Email: ronaldf.day@gmail.com


Celinet Duran           

Research Interest: Terrorism

Email: cduran@jjay.cuny.edu


Kristen Englander

Research interests:Prisoner Reentry

Email: KEnglander@gc.cuny.edu

 

Cory Feldman

Research interests: Prison, reentry, violence, immigration and removal.

Email: feldmancory@gmail.com


Adam Fera

Email: adamfera25@gmail.com



Eranga Fernando

Reseaecrh Interest: Gang violence; risk factors associated with teens joining gangs.

Email: erangaf01@gmail.com
 


Riccardo Ferraresso

Email: rferraresso@jjay.cuny.edu


Allyson W. Franklin

Research Interest: Treatment of Sex Offenders/Policy

Email: awalkerfranklin@jjay.cuny.edu          


Sarah Fritsche

Research Interests: The use and implications of actuarial risk and need assessment in criminal justice contexts, community-based youth violence prevention (e.g., “Ceasefire”), and jail diversion models, research ethics and human subject’s protection, collateral consequences of incarceration, community and restorative justice, applied research with marginalized groups, and the translation of research to practice and policy.

Email: sfritsche@gc.cuny.edu


Kendra Gentry 

Research Interests: Environmental Criminology; Crime and Public Transportation; Technology and Crime; Crime and Media; Policing; Quantitative and Qualitative Research Methods; Criminological Theory; GIS Applications in Criminal Justice

Email: kgentry@jjay.cuny.edu

Curriculum Vitae


Marna Goodman

Research interests: Juvenile Justice/juvenile reentry

Email: mgoodman@gc.cuny.edu

 

Maurice Green

Research interests: Etiologic studies of counter-criminogenic influences within economically disparate environments, carceral stigmatization and the development of theoretical frameworks to better understand resilience and achievement among socio-economically disadvantaged communities

Email: magreen@jjay.cuny.edu

 

Ken Grossberger

Research interests: use of security guards as a protective layer in homeland security, combined security systems, origins and the development of the need for protection in society, public private partnerships in loss prevention and law enforcement, national security licensing public policy, and constitutional protection of individual rights in the electronic world

Email: kjg2@msn.com

 

Nicole N. Hanson

Research Interests: The symbiosis between media and political violence; relationships between public opinion and criminal justice policy decisions; inequality, social control, and state power; efficacy and ethics of crime policy

Email: hansonnicolen@gmail.com

Curriculum Vitae

Personal Website

 

Alexandra Harocopos

Email: alexharocopos@hotmail.com


Alana Henninger

Research interests: Human Trafficking, International Human Rights, Violence Against Women, and Public Health Issues in Criminal Justice Populations

Email: ahenninger@jjay.cuny.edu

Curriculum Vitae

 

Rebecca Hill

Research interests: International criminal justice, cross-national research, critical criminology, and extremist violence

Email: rhill@jjay.cuny.edu

 

Alexandra Hiropoulos

Research interests: Behavioral Aspects of Serial Sexual Offending; Policing; Police Interviewing of Victims of Rape; International Human Rights and Women’s Rights; Sexual Violence in Conflict Situations

Email: ahiropoulos@jjay.cuny.edu

 

Karen Holt

Research interests: Cultural and critical criminology, sexual deviance, the history of sexuality

Email: kholt@jjay.cuny.edu

Curriculum Vitae

 

Jeremiah Johnson

Research interests: Police professionalization, police misconduct / use of force, and criminal justice policy.
 

Hollis B. K. Kegg

Research interests: White Collar Crime

Email: Hollis_Kegg@Hotmail.com


Chunrye Kim

Email: chunrye@gmail.com


Mijin Kim     

Research Interest: Prisoner Reentry

Email: mijkim@jjay.cuny.edu


Leonid Lantsman

Research interests: U.S. Port and Maritime security, sub-Saharan African port security, Environmental criminology, GIS and seaport crime, African criminal networks


Daiwon Lee

Research interest: Comparative criminological theory, with particular emphasis on explaining the social psychological mechanisms through which psychological factors, such as negative emotions influence offending behavior in a South Korean context and examining the life-course of individual offending and desistance patterns using group-based trajectory analysis

Email: dlee@jjay.cuny.edu

Curriculum Vitae



Jennifer Leonard

Email: leonarjq@gmail.com

 

Shirley Leyro

Research Interests: The effects of deportation on the social organization of immigrant communities, immigration and crime, social disorganization and the Latino Paradox.

Email: sleyro@jjay.cuny.edu

Curriculum Vitae

 


Laura Lutgen

Research Interest: Prisoner Reentry

Email: llutgen@jjay.cuny.edu


Timothy Malin

Research interests: Police Department Policy-making; Police Officer Development; Creating Responsiveness and Efficiency in Bureaucracies; Public-Private Partnerships in Law Enforcement; Factors Influencing Police Officer Productivity; Police-Community Relations in High Crime Environments

Email: tmalin99@gmail.com


Marissa Mandala     

Research Interest: International Crime

Email: mamandala@jjay.cuny.edu    


Cynthia-Lee Maragh

Research Interests: Understanding of how environmental influences and social institutions contribute to the formation of criminal identities, criminological theory, the impact of incarceration, and the intersection of race, crime, and substandard urban living.

Email: cmaragh2@gmail.com

 

Colleen Mills

Research Interests: Hate crimes, capital punishment and issues related to race, crime, and justice; Criminal Justice from a historical point of view, especially in topics of hate crimes, organized crime, landmark SCOTUS decisions, and modern American crime legislation.

Email: colleenmills121@gmail.com

Curriculum Vitae


Evan Misshula

Email: emisshula@jjay.cuny.edu


Roslyn Myers

Research interests: Crime victimization in severe violent interpersonal crime; offender accountability; restorative justice; trauma and cognitive neuroscience; and the gap between law and justice.

Email: rmyers@jjay.cuny.edu

Curriculum Vitae

 


Resila Onyango        

Research Interest: Policing (Cross-Cultural)

Email: ronyango@jjay.cuny.edu        
 

Jennifer Ortiz

Research interests: juvenile delinquency, juvenile justice and female delinquency

Email: jeortiz@jjay.cuny.edu

Curriculum Vitae

 

Jeffery Osborne

Research interests: the analysis of violent crime, empirical offender profiling, data collection methodology and techniques, journey-to-crime research, and the analysis of deception detection cues.

Email: josborne@gc.cuny.edu
  


Gabriel Paez

Email: gpaez@jjay.cuny.edu

 

Amalia Paladino

Research interests: Rape and homicide of prostitutes; sex trafficking

Email: amalia.paladino@gmail.com

 

Lauren Paradis

Email: lparadis@jjay.cuny.edu


Emily Pelletier

Research Interest: Juvenile delinquency prevention and diversion programs in rural communities.

Email: emilykpelletier@gmail.com


Bryce Peterson

Research interests: Correctional policy, administration, misconduct, and violence; prisoner reentry; sentencing enhancements; cross-national research; theory testing; quantitative methods

Email: bpeterson@jjay.cuny.edu

Curriculum Vitae



Nikolaos Petropoulos

Research Interests: International terrorism, left-wing terrorism and political violence, homeland security, crime prevention and police reform.

Email: Emailnickpetrop@yahoo.gr
 

Ira Promisel

Email: ipromisel@jjay.cuny.edu

 

Cassandra Ramdath

Research interests: Re-entry of incarcerated youth, re-entry of identified gang members, corrections and therapeutic communities, jail culture (inmates and co's), crime prevention through access to resources in marginalized communities

Email: cramdath@jjay.cuny.edu


Scott Reiners

Research Interest: Drug Policies

Email: sreiners@jjay.cuny.edu          


Christina Ruffino

Email: christina.ruffino@jjay.cuny.edu

 


Margaret Schmuhl


Research Interests: Sex offending, sex offender policy, juvenile delinquency, punishment, violence against women, criminological theory.

Email: mschmuhl@jjay.cuny.edu

 

Martin Schonteich

Research interests:Criminal justice reform in transitional societies; prosecutorial independence and accountability; pretrial justice; immigration, public perceptions and public security.

Email: mschonteich@jjay.cuny.edu
  

Celia Sporer

Research interests: Domestic violence; policing

Email: csporer@jjay.cuny.edu



Marie Springer

Research Interests: Federal Agency Accountability. Current papers: Ponzi schemes and federal agencies.

Email: mspringer@jjay.cuny.edu


Daniel Stageman

Research interests: immigration, immigrant detention and deportation, immigrant labor exploitation, political economy of punishment, corrections, reentry, correctional education

Email: dstageman@jjay.cuny.edu
 
Curriculum Vitae


Susruta Sudula         

Research Interest: Corrections

Email: ssudula@jjay.cuny.edu          


David Topel


Research Interest: Coordination of international law enforcement policies between countries in the Americas, drug trafficking and prisons, the culture of political corruption and the power of illegal markets to influence institutions.

Email: Djtopel2000@gmail.com

 

Margret Valdimarsdottir

Research interests: Sociology of law and punishment, criminal and public opinion/the media, juvenile delinquency, sexual violence and abuse, social disorganization, and research methods.

Email: mvaldimarsdottir@gc.cuny.edu

Curriculum Vitae



Daria Vaisman         

Research Interest: International/Transnational Crime

Email: dvaisman@jjay.cuny.edu      
 

Julie Viollaz

Research interests: leopard poaching and other wildlife crime, environmental criminology, art theft and how to prevent it using situational crime prevention methods, recruitment into terrorist organizations through spouses or partners, quantitative methods.

Email: jviollaz@jjay.cuny.edu

 

Megan Welsh

Research interests: Prisoner reentry; juvenile justice; social work in criminal justice settings; feminist and critical criminology; and qualitative research methods

Email: mwelsh@jjay.cuny.edu

Curriculum Vitae

 

Seokhee Yoon

Research interests: Victimization, research methods, evidence based policy, collateral effects of prison

Email: yoon0214@gmail.com

 


Stephen Chavez

Monica Cherry

Tonya Desa

Yolanda Ortiz

Michael Pass

Francis Spangenberg