Show The Graduate Center Menu

 

 
 

Current Students

Criminal Justice


Michael Aiello
Email: maiello@jjay.cuny.edu
Curriculum Vitae

Marc Balcells Magrans
Research interests: Looting in archaeological sites; Art crimes; International and comparative criminology; History of crime and criminology; Qualitative research methods; GLBT-criminological related issues
Email: mbalcellsmagrans@jjay.cuny.edu

Jeanene Barrett
Email: jbarrett@jjay.cuny.edu

Sarah Bennett
Research interests: Political violence, Terrorism- radicalization, National security issues pertaining to energy, International Human Rights
Email: sabennett@jjay.cuny.edu
Curriculum Vitae

Kwan-Lamar Blount-Hill
Research Interest:  police &  legal legitimacy, law enforcement administration, natural resource and emergency management, the impact of mental health on justice and the influence of race, religion, and sexual orientation in criminal justice
Email: kblount-Hill@jjay.cuny.edu

Delene Bromirski
Email: dbromirski@jjay.cuny.edu

Joel Capellan
Research interests: Domestic terrorism; international terrorism; intelligence led policing; extreme right and left wing ideology; intended and unintended consequences of anti-terrorist policies.
Email: jcapellan@jjay.cuny.edu

Jisun Choi
Research Interest: Victim and prevention, statistics, GIS mapping
Email: jchoi@jjay.cuny.edu
Curriculum Vitae

Celina Cuevas
Research Interests: juvenile justice system, corrections, and victimization
Email: ccuevas@jjay.cuny.edu 

Noah Cypher
Email: ncypher@jjay.cuny.edu

Celinet Duran            
Research Interest: Terrorism
Email: cduran@jjay.cuny.edu

Kristen Englander
Research interests:Prisoner Reentry
Email: KEnglander@jjay.cuny.edu

Cory Feldman
Research interests: Prison, reentry, violence, immigration and removal
Email: cfeldman@jjay.cuny.edu

Shun Feng
Research Interest: spatial analysis and policing; problem-oriented policing practices; examining spatial factors influencing recidivism; and developing experimental designs for evaluating the efficacy of programs, policies, and practices related to crime reduction
Email: sfeng@jjay.cuny.edu

Adam Fera
Email: afera@jjay.cuny.edu

Beth Fera
Research Interests: Conducting more advanced analysis in the field of research; Criminological Theory, plea bargaining and sentencing, and policy analysis
Email: bfera@jjay.cuny.edu 

Riccardo Ferraresso
Email: rferraresso@jjay.cuny.edu

Allyson W. Franklin
Research Interest: Resilience; minor attractions; queer criminology; positive criminology
Email: awalkerfranklin@jjay.cuny.edu
Curriculum Vitae         

Maurice Green
Research interests: Etiologic studies of counter-criminogenic influences within economically disparate environments, carceral stigmatization and the development of theoretical frameworks to better understand resilience and achievement among socio-economically disadvantaged communities
Email: magreen@jjay.cuny.edu

Nicole N. Hanson
Research Interests: The symbiosis between media and political violence; relationships between public opinion and criminal justice policy decisions; inequality, social control, and state power; efficacy and ethics of crime policy
Email: nhanson@jjay.cuny.edu
Curriculum Vitae
Personal Website

Alexandra Harocopos
Email: aharocopos@jjay.cuny.edu

Rebecca Hill
Research interests: International criminal justice, cross-national research, critical criminology, and extremist violence
Email: rhill@jjay.cuny.edu

Yuchen Hou
Research Interests: comparative studies on theories and practices of criminal investigation, policing, network security legislation, victimology, among others
Email: yhou@jjay.cuny.edu

Chunrye Kim
Email: ckim@jjay.cuny.edu

Mijin Kim      
Research Interest: Prisoner Reentry
Email: mijkim@jjay.cuny.edu

Leonid Lantsman
Research interests: U.S. Port and Maritime security, sub-Saharan African port security, Environmental criminology, GIS and seaport crime, African criminal networks

Daiwon Lee
Research interest: Comparative criminological theory, with particular emphasis on explaining the social psychological mechanisms through which psychological factors, such as negative emotions influence offending behavior in a South Korean context and examining the life-course of individual offending and desistance patterns using group-based trajectory analysis
Email: dlee@jjay.cuny.edu
Curriculum Vitae

Shirley Leyro
Research Interests: The effects of deportation on the social organization of immigrant communities, immigration and crime, social disorganization and the Latino Paradox
Email: sleyro@jjay.cuny.edu
Curriculum Vitae

Olive Lu
Research Interest: intersection of juvenile justice & race disparities in sentencing decisions; exploring corrections practices in greater depth
Email: olu@jjay.cuny.edu

Laura Lutgen
Research Interest: Prisoner Reentry
Email: llutgen@jjay.cuny.edu

Marissa Mandala      
Research Interest: International Crime
Email: mamandala@jjay.cuny.edu    

Cynthia-Lee Maragh
Research Interests: Understanding of how environmental influences and social institutions contribute to the formation of criminal identities, criminological theory, the impact of incarceration, and the intersection of race, crime, and substandard urban living
Email: cmaragh@jjay.cuny.edu

Colleen Mills
Research Interests: Hate crimes, capital punishment and issues related to race, crime, and justice; Criminal Justice from a historical point of view, especially in topics of hate crimes, organized crime, landmark SCOTUS decisions, and modern American crime legislation
Email: cmills@jjay.cuny.edu
Curriculum Vitae

Evan Misshula
Email: emisshula@jjay.cuny.edu

Roslyn Myers
Research interests: Crime victimization in severe violent interpersonal crime; offender accountability; restorative justice; trauma and cognitive neuroscience; and the gap between law and justice
Email: rmyers@jjay.cuny.edu
Curriculum Vitae

Resila Onyango        
Research Interest: Policing (Cross-Cultural)
Email: ronyango@jjay.cuny.edu        

Jeffery Osborne
Research interests: the analysis of violent crime, empirical offender profiling, data collection methodology and techniques, journey-to-crime research, and the analysis of deception detection cues
Email: josborne@jjay.cuny.edu

Amalia Paladino
Research interests: Rape and homicide of prostitutes; sex trafficking
Email: apaladino@jjay.cuny.edu

Lauren Paradis
Email: lparadis@jjay.cuny.edu

Jennifer Peirce
Research Interest: Prison reform strategies; reentry; international and cross-cultural adaptation of crime prevention and reentry programs; program evaluation; gang violence
Email: jpeirce@jjay.cuny.edu

Emily Pelletier
Research Interest: Juvenile delinquency prevention and diversion programs in rural communities
Email: epelletier@jjay.cuny.edu

Jimin Pyo
Research Interests: international and comparative criminal justice, interrogation, and jury decision-making
Email: jpyo@jjay.cuny.edu

Pamela Ruiz
Research Interest: prevention programs, gang violence, drug trafficking, GIS mapping and prison reentry programs
Email: paruiz@jjay.cuny.edu

Margaret Schmuhl
Research Interests: Sex offending, sex offender policy, juvenile delinquency, punishment, violence against women, criminological theory
Email: mschmuhl@jjay.cuny.edu

Martin Schonteich
Research interests:Criminal justice reform in transitional societies; prosecutorial independence and accountability; pretrial justice; immigration, public perceptions and public security
Email: mschonteich@jjay.cuny.edu

Jackie Scott 
Research Interests: desistance, recidivism and life-course trajectories.
Email: jascott@jjay.cuny.edu

Jason Silva
Research Interest: interrelationship between crime, corrections, and media representations
Email: jasilva@jjay.cuny.edu

Celia Sporer
Research interests: Domestic violence; policing
Email: csporer@jjay.cuny.edu

Daniel Stageman
Research interests: immigration, immigrant detention and deportation, immigrant labor exploitation, political economy of punishment, corrections, reentry, correctional education
Email: dstageman@jjay.cuny.edu
Curriculum Vitae

Victor St. John 
Research Interests: Environmental Criminology, Reentry, Recidivism, Dissidence, Corrections, & Juvenile Justice
Email: vstjohn@jjay.cuny.edu

Susruta Sudula         
Research Interest: Corrections
Email: ssudula@jjay.cuny.edu          

Margret Valdimarsdottir
Research interests: Sociology of law and punishment, criminal and public opinion/the media, juvenile delinquency, sexual violence and abuse, social disorganization, and research methods
Email: mvaldimarsdottir@jjay.cuny.edu
Curriculum Vitae

Daria Vaisman          
Research Interest: International/Transnational Crime
Email: dvaisman@jjay.cuny.edu      

Julie Viollaz
Research interests: leopard poaching and other wildlife crime, environmental criminology, art theft and how to prevent it using situational crime prevention methods, recruitment into terrorist organizations through spouses or partners, quantitative methods
Email: jviollaz@jjay.cuny.edu

Yun-Ho Yeom 
Research Interests: Racial Issues Related to U.S. Constitution, Racial Disparity in Criminal Justice System and Stereotypes against Minorities
Email: yyeom@jjay.cuny.edu

 

Policy, Oversight & Administration

Jessica Cabrera
Email: jcabrera@jjay.cuny.edu

Frank Chen
Research Interest: how inspectors general “add value” to the governments and agencies
Email: fchen@jjay.cuny.edu

Nicholas A. Cromie
Research Interest: terrorism and governmental oversight
Email: ncromie@jjay.cuny.edu

Connor Concannon 
Research Interests: data analysis, machine learning, GIS
Email: cconcannon@jjay.cuny.edu

Ronald Day
Research Interests: Research interests include reentry, desistance, recidivism, parole policy, and correctional health care
Email: rday@jjay.cuny.edu

Sarah Fritsche
Research Interests: The use and implications of actuarial risk and need assessment in criminal justice contexts, community-based youth violence prevention (e.g., “Ceasefire”), and jail diversion models, research ethics and human subject’s protection, collateral consequences of incarceration, community and restorative justice, applied research with marginalized groups, and the translation of research to practice and policy
Email: sfritsche-Picard@jjay.cuny.edu

Ken Grossberger
Research interests: use of security guards as a protective layer in homeland security, combined security systems, origins and the development of the need for protection in society, public private partnerships in loss prevention and law enforcement, national security licensing public policy, and constitutional protection of individual rights in the electronic world
Email: kgrossberger@jjay.cuny.edu

Hollis Kegg
Research interests: White Collar Crime
Email: hkegg@jjay.cuny.edu

Erjona Lleshi 
Research Interests: Reducing sexual abuse in public schools -K through 12th grade, and Reducing wrongful convictions for those sentenced to death
Email: elleshi@jjay.cuny.edu

Timothy Malin
Research interests: Police Department Policy-making; Police Officer Development; Creating Responsiveness and Efficiency in Bureaucracies; Public-Private Partnerships in Law Enforcement; Factors Influencing Police Officer Productivity; Police-Community Relations in High Crime Environments
Email: tmalin@jjay.cuny.edu

Christopher Mercado
Research Interest: homeland security, terrorism, domestic preparedness, and exploring new methods of leveraging law enforcement assets to address criminality
Email: chmercado@jjay.cuny.edu

Gabriel Paez
Email: gpaez@jjay.cuny.edu

Nikolaos Petropoulos
Research Interests: International terrorism, left-wing terrorism and political violence, homeland security, crime prevention and police reform.
Email: npetropoulos@jjay.cuny.edu
 
Scott Reiners
Research Interest: Drug Policies
Email: sreiners@jjay.cuny.edu          

Erin Rogers
Research Interest: offender reentry, drug courts, and empirically based correctional programming
Email: erogers@jjay.cuny.edu

Shamus Smith 
Research Interest: declined prosecutions for defendants charged with domestic violence offenses, specifically within immigrant populations who live in areas of low socioeconomic status
Email: shsmith@jjay.cuny.edu

Marie Springer
Research Interests: Ponzi schemes, white collar crime and federal agencies accountability.
Email: mspringer@jjay.cuny.edu

David Topel
Research Interest: Coordination of international law enforcement policies between countries in the Americas, drug trafficking and prisons, the culture of political corruption and the power of illegal markets to influence institutions
Email: dtopel@jjay.cuny.edu

Abbie L. Tuller
Research Interest: analysis of policies impacting victims’ services, particularly violence against women
Email: atuller@jjay.cuny.edu