Faculty Book: Lía Schwartz

Lía Schwartz

Lo ingenioso y lo prudente: Bartolomé Leonardo de Argensola y la sátira
(Ediciones Universidad Salamanca, 2013)
 
Lo ingenioso y lo prudenteCollected in this book are five studies on the prose and verse satire of Bartolomé Leonardo de Argensola (1562–1631), which Schwartz published between 1993 and 2006 and updated for this edition. Argensola was a respected author in his lifetime, and his satires in verse were published in a posthumous edition of 1634; his three Menippean prose satires, however, turned up in publication for the first and only time in the nineteenth century—until 2011, when Schwartz and Isabel Pérez Cuenca published a critical annotated edition of them. Those works are included in this volume, which serves as an introductory guide to a valuable genre in the tradition of Horace, Persius, Juvenal, and Luciano de Samosata. Lía Schwartz is a distinguished professor of comparative literature and Hispanic and Luso-Brazilian literatures and languages at the Graduate Center.
 
Purchase this book

Submitted on: JUL 8, 2013

Category: Comparative Literature, Hispanic and Luso-Brazilian Literatures and Languages, Faculty Books