Marcel den Dikken
Position: Professor
Program: Linguistics
Campus Affiliation: Graduate Center
Phone: 212 817 8503
Degrees/Diplomas: Ph.D., University of Leiden
Research Interests: Syntax, and its interface with morphology
Marcel den Dikken came to the Graduate Center in 1998. A linguist with expertise in many languages, he has published widely on the subject. Between 1995 and 2006, he authored three monographs on syntax: Particles: On the Syntax of Verb-Particle, Triadic and Causative Constructions; The Structure of the Noun Phrase in Rotuman; and Relators and Linkers: The Syntax of Predication, Predicate Inversion, and Copulas. An Amsterdam University Press volume he coauthored with Hans Broekhuis and Evelien Keizer, Nouns and Noun Phrases, appeared in 2013; it is the second volume of Syntax of Dutch, a seven-volume work.
Den Dikken is also the coeditor of ten books and special issues of journals, and he has contributed to a wide variety of edited volumes. He is the editor of the Cambridge Handbook of Generative Syntax (2012) and series editor of the book series Studies in Natural Language and Linguistic Theory, and his survey articles have appeared in the Encyclopedia of Cognitive Science (2002) and the Blackwell Companion to Syntax (2005). He serves as editor-in-chief of the journal Natural Language and Linguistic Theory and has published more than thirty articles in peer-reviewed journals in his field, including Journal of Comparative Germanic Linguistics, Language, Lingua, Linguistic Inquiry, Linguistic Review, Natural Language and Linguistic Theory, Journal of Psycholinguistic Research, Studia Linguistica, and Syntax.
Den Dikken’s collaborative research—with Professors Judy Bernstein, Christina Tortora, and Raffaella Zanuttini—on the comparative morphosyntax of Appalachian English was awarded funding by the National Science Foundation. He has been a correspondent of the Royal Netherlands Academy of Arts and Sciences since 2008 and has served on the faculty at universities in France, Holland, the Netherlands, South Korea, and the United States.